Scouser at McDonalds

Using your best accent (whether it be Australian, British or southern, ect), pretend you are at McDondalds and order something off of their menu. Be picky! For example, a coke with no ice.

Beginning this assignment, I had a specific accent I wanted to emulate in mind.

I’m from the South of the U.S., including an eight year stint in Alabama, so I felt a Southern accent would be a bit too easy.  I wanted to do a British accent.  Anyone at all familiar with how the Brits speak knows how drastically different the accents are from town to town, particularly from those of the North to South.  When I say drastically, I mean a Londoner may travel to Newcastle and have no idea what the hell these people are saying.   For a little clarity, check out hilarious reality show such as Desperate Scousewives from Liverpool (or Livapewwl), the Geordie Shore from Newcastle, The Only Way Is Essex and Educating Essex, as well as posh town London’s Made in Chelsea.

Before moving to my current location this past January, I was living in Chelsea, so I am quite familiar with this bored accent with money dripping off the vowels.  For this assignment, I wanted to do a funnier variation, and wanted to speak with in the Scouse accent.  This is because last year, when Desperate Scousewives first came on the air, I was highly amused with the advert that frequently played while I was watching television.  By highly amused, I mean I thought it was the funniest thing I’d seen in my entire life and would go to work every night and imitate the accent.

A humorous example of English accents.

So, to order from McDonalds like a Scouser.

I never said I was very good at it.

One thought on “Scouser at McDonalds

Leave a Reply

