The Power Giving Ring

Mashedup Children’s Book

Mashup a children’s book based on another cultural artifact. For example, framing Dr. Who as a children’s book in the aesthetic of a Dr. Suess’s work. See example from College Humor here.

Following the College Humor examples, I decided to merge a classic Children’s book with a fantasiesque piece of culture.  As you can see, I merged Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree with J.R.R. Tolkien’s series The Lord of the Rings.

Silverstein was author and illustrator of The Giving Tree, and its cover art serves as the base for manipulation here.

The Giving Tree

Front Cover of The Giving Tree

I used Pixlr to manipulate the image and add characters from The Lord of the Rings that seemed appropriate on the cover of this children’s book.  The little boy reminded my of the small, innocent looking hobbit Frodo from The Lord of the Rings.  The apple could be humorously replaced with the Ring, and to spice it up a bit, I decided to include a looming Gollum.

I decided to use the LEGO version of Lord of the Rings characters after remembering their existence.

Luckily, I found a LEGO Wikia containing images for all of the figures.

LEGO Frodo

Main character Frodo from The Lord of the Rings in LEGO form.

LEGO Gollum

LEGO version of the ring lusting Gollum from The Lord of the Rings.

When extracting the hobbit Frodo’s form to place of The Giving Tree’s cover, I hit a few snags.  The magic wand tool was giving my a bit a difficulty due to the varying hues of the background image, so I did what I could with the tool and used the eraser to isolate the rest of Frodo’s form.   After adjusting the LEGO sizes and placing them where I desired, I matched the color from the original background and switched to the original background layer to give a clean looking image.

I did the same when replacing the apple with the Ring.

One Ring to Rule Them All

The Ring of desire from The Lord of the Rings

The last step was to replace the title and the author.

I wanted to think of something clever pertaining to The Lord of the Rings while remaining true to the essence of The Giving Tree.  With a bit of brainstorming, I settled on The Power Giving Ring.  However, I nearly drove myself mad when trying to find a font style that matched the original for the alternate title.

I couldn’t find a closely matching style, so I settled on juice ITC and used Gabriola to write Tolkien.  (Again, couldn’t find the font style I wanted.)

 

And that, my friends, was how The Power Giving Ring was born.

One thought on “The Power Giving Ring

  1. I like your version better than the original cover. It is tricky to select and transfer image portions from photo to photo as you describe.

    You might have been able to cover up the white portions in the lego image by using the clone tool or even painting with the same color as the hair.

Leave a Reply

