Seven Ciggies

Quickie Sales

The hazards offered at Seven Eleven

Think of anyplace you spend money, and what you most often buy at that place. Then redesign their logo to incorporate your favorite product. Do as many as you want.

The Consumer Mashup made me consider where I spend a majority of my budget.  Initially, I considered incorporating discounted fish from AEON, but realized most of my money is spent on the lung blackening sticks offered at the Seven/Eleven.  To create my alternate logo, I started with the original.

I decided to experiment with different photo editing software, so I used pixlr for this assignment.

A google search of “Cigarettes” gave me many options, so I selected a photo containing a straight cigarette.  Using the magic wand feature, I clicked the cigarette photo and copied its inverse.  After pasting the inverse on the original logo, I erased all of the excess.  The remaining was one straight cigarette which I copied multiple times and rearranged to lay on top of the original logo’s lettering.  After the cigarettes were in place, I switched to the background layer and erased the green ELEVEN to eliminate any visible green.  Here, I changed the white logo background to black to represent the hazards of smoking and make the new lettering easier to read. The red and oranges of the original logo complimented the change nicely by representing the fire from the cherry against the smokey black.

I found pixlr quite easy to use, more so than the overwhelming Photoshop.  I am glad I tried it out, I believe I’ll be using it more in the future.

One thought on “Seven Ciggies

  1. Yeah Pixlr is pretty cool. But if you don’t give up the smokes, you won’t get to use if for long as you’d otherwise be able to.

    At first I wondered about the black around the seven eleven logo – now I get it. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

