The Power of the Like

One click, one nod.

In discussions about the internet and its usage, Facebook seems to be deeply rooted in any exchange.  My previous post is a perfect example of how natural the social network’s presence is.  One comment on the post reminded me of a conversation I had  about a year ago.  Driving down the highway, a close friend and I contemplated Facebook’s capabilities and power over this generation.

roundhouseslapsays:

That’s exactly how I use Facebook. It’s like an effortless news aggregator. People I know post things that are important to them and I end up keeping afloat with current events, memes, and pop culture from all over the world (since so many of my friends are international).

I also use it to establish or maintain connections with friends. I can’t always hang out or see a person, especially when I’m busy or far away, but by commenting on their posts or liking their photos it feels like I’m still around. Between my Japanese friends especially the “like” feature seems to take on a really supportive feeling.

 

This, is the power of the like.  My friend Will and presented an idea, the power of the like.  This completely changed the light under which I viewed Facebook and opened my eyes to the exchange of interest made possible only by the internet.

Any one Facebook user is connected to people with which they have worked, attended school, volunteered, or met at a party anytime in the past. This is to say, any one user probably does not know each of their ‘friends’ on the most intimate level.

One day, I may wake up withThis Monkey’s Gone To Heaven stuck in my head, so I update my status with a YouTube link to the song.  Throughout the day I receive notifications of comments, shares, and likes of my link.

Sometimes, that guy or girl (you met that one time at that party in the middle of nowhere you weren’t actually suppose to be at but your friend dragged you along anyways and you thought he or she was kind of cute and mildly interesting though you didn’t really have the chance to get know them that well) will like your post.  This is an exchange of interest because the person has just told you that they like the Pixies, and you assumed they exclusively listened to Eminem and Akon.

This exchange of interests has the ability to change a persons mind about an individual, I may now give this guy a chance.

An example of finding common interest, regardless of the person or the liked material, the like can change a Facebook user’s mind about another and alter their interactions.  Web interactions have a snowball effect, if someone seems interesting we can find many different channels through which to follow their activity.

Because now, I am following Pixies guy’s Twitter, blog, Tumbler, and YouTube channel.  I have also discovered three new bands I cannot stop listening to and watched a documentary that changed my life, so thank you Pixies guy.  I also have a second date with him this Friday,who knows where the power of that like may lead…

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Power of the Like

  1. Oh man! I can’t believe I missed this post for so long. Especially since I’m quoted in it. I feel famous. 😉

    That’s a really neat story about how something as easily dismissed as a “Like” on a video can change your opinion of somebody. I agree. It’s also helped me learn more about people and their quirks, hobbies, and interests than I would have thought previously. People are multi-dimensional, but in the sliver of time we get to interact with them in person, we don’t always get to see that.

    And FYI, I’ve “liked” this post.

  2. You’ve caused me to reconsider the “Like.” To me to it has seemed like a superficial gesture.

    But your point and story about the possibility of it leading to a deeper level of connection is intriguing.

    The chance to form connections based on shared interests and objectives is to me one of the powerful aspects of internet culture. I’d previously thought that best occurs through deeper and more thoughtful forms of expression, such as leaving a detailed comment to someone’s blog post is how this best happens.

    But as I said at the start, I’m beginning to reconsider.

  3. wow…i never thought deeply about the “like” button on facebook. i use it but i just use it because everyone’s using it and it’s simpler than commenting on someone’s post.

    nice blog post 🙂

  4. I believe this particularly powerful when compared to the detailed comments in terms of the growing majority of users and their every shrinking attention span. The speed at which people absorb information and opinions on the internet is amazing, but this also means people aren’t thoroughly analyzing and considering the information they encounter, i.e., skimming. A simple thumbs up may mean more to a Facebook user than a couple paragraphs they won’t carefully read.

Leave a Reply

